Browse crosses

 
LocationBeside the road, leading from Chagford to Middlecott Farm, about mile North West of Middlecott Farm.

O/S Grid Ref:  SX/71367/86445       Longitude/Latitude (Degrees+/-):  -3.82141/50.66342

Map location:  Click here to view map.

Purpose:  As a waymarker for the track from Moretonhampstead and North Bovey to Chagford.

Size:  5 feet 8 inches (1.73 metres) tall. 12 inches (0.30 metres) wide at the top, 1 foot 6 inches (0.46 metres) across at the bottom. The relief cross on the southern head is 1 foot 9 inches (0.53 metres) tall and 1 foot 1 inch (0.33 metres) across the arms.

shorter_rear.jpg (100616 bytes)Information:  It is thought that this cross dates back to Saxon times (somewhere in the period from the 7th to 9th century).  It is unique among Dartmoor crosses in that it is a plain pillar of granite, with a Latin Cross cut in relief on the head of the front (southern face) of the  stone. This relief  cross has, in itself, another cross incised into its head.  A Latin Cross, 16 inches high and 12 inches across the arms, has been incised into the head of the back (northern face) of the stone.

In 1873, the cross was taken from its site and put into use as the base for the water pump at Middlecott Farm. This was put right in 1900 when, under the supervision of Major Yolland, it was restored to its former site.

shorter_head_south.jpg (134277 bytes)shorter_head_north.jpg (99203 bytes)